Indecision = Conflicting Priorities

There are at least as many reasons for indecision as there are decisions to be made.  But for the purposes of today’s post, we’ll focus on just one of them.  I consider myself to be fairly decisive.  I know myself pretty well at this point of my life in regards to what is important to me.

 

I was due at a dinner party today and had been given the suggestion that I could bring some type of bread, wine or dessert.  I decided easily that I would bring two things, but then couldn’t settle on what those two things should be.  I was certain that I would bring a dessert as one.  (Something sweet at the end of dinner is a great thing.)   Exactly what that dessert would be continued to be in question.  And I waffled between the merits of bringing bread or wine.  I ended up making two desserts.

 

While I was baking I started to think about why I had waffled.  I don’t know the people that I was getting together with terribly well and I also didn’t know what was being served.  I wanted to provide something that would be appreciated and complimentary without having enough details to make a choice.

 

I didn’t have clear priorities in this situation so my decision to make two desserts was made because I have a lot of experience baking.  And, I have a sweet tooth.  Two desserts would ensure that I covered my bases for those who like chocolate as well as those who would like something else.

 

I did go a bit out on a limb and make a dessert that I had never made before, which I wouldn’t usually recommend.  However, I have been baking since my teens so I felt pretty safe.  The other dessert, brownies, from a tried and true recipe (the book falls right open to the page) were my other choice.

 

Looking back, I can recall other times when I had more trouble than usual making a decision when I didn’t have clear cut priorities.  Sometimes I have had clear cut priorities, but they have been in direct conflict with each other.  Do I decide to take the action that will meet the customer’s expectation, or do I take the action that I have been given by a superior?  These sticky conflicts can make one appear indecisive.

 

If you can build a more compelling argument for choosing one priority over the other, then you have your decision.  Of course, you will immediately advise the affected parties of your decision and anything else that is necessary regarding the other priority.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

One response to “Indecision = Conflicting Priorities

  1. Pingback: What Price, Solution? | Practical Business

Leave a Reply

