Motivated to Improve Motivation

Can't Swim? No Problem

Can’t Swim? No Problem

Webster’s defines motive (root of motivation) as:

Noun – A moving cause

1 some inner drive, impulse intention, etc. that causes a person to do something or act in a certain way; an incentive; a goal

Motivation then is to be motivated.

 

Employers, teachers and leaders of all stripes like to talk about motivation – but you must note that it is driven by an inner cause.  No one can motivate you but yourself.

 

“Each of us has a personal philosophy, but few of us have defined what it is.  Although you may have never sat down and defined what your philosophy is, it is fully operative and working in your life at all times.  It deals with what you believe about the world in which you live, about its people and events, about how events and circumstances affect you, and about how you affect them.”

~Chris Prentiss, Zen and the Art of Happiness

 

I find that I like to engage in mental puttering, especially when at cross purposes for one reason or another.  If I can be allowed to examine new ideas like a wander through a garden, then my mind will light upon one or two that I will want to explore in greater detail.

 

Of course, in the work world that is a luxury, but I can still make something a mental game for myself.  Maybe I have to call a disgruntled customer back so I can list out several ideas to turn the customer’s attitude around by the end of the call.  Or maybe I have to slog through a pile of forms to categorize responses so I can set a time limit for myself and see how many I can complete in that time.

 

What gets your blood moving each day?  (Besides coffee)

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

Leave a comment

February 5, 2013 · 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

