Potpourri

DSC03125My siblings used to get frustrated with me because I could keep my Halloween candy and just eat it in small amounts.  I was able to figure out fairly early on that I didn’t enjoy getting sick from the candy, but that certainly didn’t mean that I didn’t love candy.  Check out this post from the Passionate Problem Solver’s blog:  Skills for Success, Delayed Gratification

 

I admit that I hadn’t thought about the subtle differences between self-esteem and self-acceptance before reading this post on the Job Box Report: The Power of Self-Acceptance.  I heartily agree with Rachel and would add that I find self-acceptance much easier as I get older and gain broader experience in the world.

 

An interesting read with a different perspective on the way that groups interact: The Six Thinking Hats by Edward DeBono.  “Thinking is the ultimate human resource.  The main difficulty of thinking is confusion.  With the Six Hats method the emphasis is on ‘what can be’ rather than just on ‘what is’, and on how we design a way forward – not on who is right and who is wrong.”

 

“It is up to us to give ourselves recognition. If we wait for it to come from others, we feel resentful when it doesn’t, and when it does, we may well reject it.”

~Bernard Berkowitz

 

Keep yourself mentally awake, from Forbes: 10 Brainteasers to Test Your Mental Sharpness

 

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

Leave a comment

February 21, 2013 · 8:42 am

Leave a Reply

