Challenge Your Self-Defeatist Notions

challengeWe all have them, these thoughts that start ‘I can’t’, ‘I’m not’ and go on to describe some feature of ourselves in a negative light.  Sometimes these are echoes of past voices, sometimes amalgamations of bits and pieces of our growing years.  Wherever they originate, they are self-defeating in nature.

 

If there is something that you would really like to do and your own immediate response is to tell yourself why you can’t do it, stop right there.  Ask that defeatist thought why not – why can’t I go after that promotion, go back to school, take that vacation, etc.  Uh, well, hmmm, because I said you aren’t worthy because that’s what I’ve always said.  Listen, I’m protecting you from potential failure here, why are you suddenly questioning me?

 

Because I’ve matured to a point where I’m not so sure you are protecting me, that’s why – because I am starting to think that you are an outdated and unhelpful notion that should be challenged, that’s why.  Maybe once I spend some more time fleshing out my idea I will find that there are valid reasons to change it or not continue.  But your rubber stamp ‘Can’t’ isn’t valid.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

1 Comment

February 23, 2013 · 9:27 am

One response to “Challenge Your Self-Defeatist Notions

  1. Pingback: Equal & Opposite | Practical Business

Leave a Reply

