Shuffling through your Talents

shuffleJust a few days ago I wrote about the first time doing something significant, First Solo Moment.  My thoughts have moved on to the range of talents that most of us possess, and the fact that we often end up using only a few of them on a regular basis.  Like the old saw about riding a bike, I can’t remember the last time I rode a bike.  (More accurately I don’t want to, when did those seats become so uncomfortable?)

 

I suppose it’s only natural that some of our talents will lie fallow at some point or other in our lives.  There are only so many hours in a day and the to-do list brings needs to the fore of wants.  Cooking for me was once something that I did daily and while I was never supremely talented, I was reasonably capable of whipping up some tasty fare.  Now I can spend several moments in the kitchen thinking, wow I used to spend so much time in here, I’m hard pressed to think of anything that I know how to make these days.

 

Some things, like excel formulas say, are used just frequently enough to be able to access once you give yourself a bit of a prod.  Or call over the wall to your neighbor to ask ‘hey, where’s that certain file we use quarterly again?’.  Assuming that the neighbor can recall, or perhaps has been practical enough to have a reminder note tacked to their wall.

 

Plenty of job seekers are out there; some have been seeking for a fairly long time.  There is fear on the part of some employers that their skills and talents might be getting a bit rusty.  They just need a little reminder, just like riding a bike.  Hey employer, when was the last time that you changed a light fixture in your house?  We each have so very many talents.

 

And then there are the talents that we don’t want to have to refresh, for instance I can change a tire on a car.  That doesn’t mean that I want to, but assuming that I have the strength I could.  At the very least I could be able to tell that someone missed a step while watching them complete this necessary task.

 

So very, very many talents are necessary in our world.  I’m thankful that I possess a few of them and that I also have a talent to find the right person when I need a talent that I don’t have myself.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

Leave a Reply

