Acceptance or Campaign for Improvement

I’m not much for horoscope or astrology but it is true that I am a Libra and I have spent my life thinking about and seeking balance – so I don’t discount the nugget of truth in these ideas.  Balance is such a simple concept and so difficult to achieve, especially across all the aspects of a life.  We each have to decide for our own selves where we should best put our energy and effort – what we should accept, what we should challenge.  We can see the waste in the story of Don Quixote – all his energy spent tipping at windmills.  But there is also something sadly noble about his adherence to his beliefs.

 

On the other side is this concept that one can see popping up in many places – ‘It is what it is’.  Acceptance is important as a philosophical choice, especially in circumstances where we hold no sway.  But what if we choose to accept in a situation where we could have taken some control and affected a better outcome?

 

“I am only one.  But still I am one.  I cannot do everything, but still I can do something.  And because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”

~Edward Everett Hale

 

I participated in a seminar that laid out the control spectrum like this:

S – system

O – others

S – self

We have control over only one of these, ourselves.  But we could have some influence over others, based on many factors.  Depending on the size and complexity of the system, acceptance is probably the best course.  At least in the short run.

campaign

A decision to develop a campaign for improvement about a system is best done by starting with a compelling argument to influence others, turning the campaign into a group effort.  And so on, just as a small trickle of water can influence the shape of a mountain.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

Leave a Reply

