And to Think that I Saw it On (Fill in the Blank)

I have always adored Dr. Seuss, so a nod to him for this title and theme today.  Dr. Seuss encourages us all to embrace our uniqueness and to seek out stories.  I can’t resist a good story, can you?  I wish that every child in the world would grow up with at least one memory of snuggling with a loved adult and reading a book together.

 

Somewhere along the way through life many people stop doing stories – reading, telling – and only keep them by way of movies and television, sadly.  I started to think about this after telling a story today at a networking group about my son’s dog and a little adventure that we had walking recently.  My story telling today reminded me of Dr. Seuss’ very first book, referenced above.  Marco is a storyteller whose father wants reality in his tales, but Marco wants some spice.  Most of the pages relate the growth of Marco’s fantastic tale, the one that no one could beat.  In the end Marco’s tale is tailored to suit his father, the audience’s preferences.

 

When I was young I also thought that fantastic adventures where the way to tell stories, and often got caught in a fib of my own invention.  As I got older, I realized that storytelling for the purpose of relaying information and catching the interest of the audience is better done with real tales that can be found by just being observant.

 

I needed to take a break yesterday afternoon so I decided to take a walk.  Of course my son’s dog sat by me as I put on my shoes and gave me pleading eyes.  Now this dog has given herself the job of being the neighborhood greeter – she is convinced that everyone wants to meet her.

pleading eyes

We looped out and around the neighborhood and were on the way home when we passed a house where a dog was peering out of an open window.  I was concerned because the window was open wide and the dog was a good size and out popped the screen with the dog right after it.  (It’s a ranch house, don’t fret.)

 

Luckily these dogs wanted to be friends while I tried to encourage our group toward the house’s front door.  But no one was home and the dog was starting to realize its free state.  Yikes – now what?  I couldn’t tie them together with the leash, I had nothing else on me to use as a leash and I really didn’t want to call 911.

 

I looked around just in time to see neighbors across the street coming home.  They were kind enough to come over and while the wife and I discussed possible solutions, the husband took the dog and deposited her inside the fence securely, set the screen inside the window and closed the window and then headed home.  Without saying a word.

 

Stories connect us and it doesn’t always happen, but if you expect them to people will help.  You just have to get their attention.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

Leave a Reply

