Culling Weeds

Once again I didn’t get the weed stuff on the yard in the fall nor did I get it spread early enough to prevent the dandelions from popping up this week.  I’ve been spending at least an hour per day this week pulling the heads off in an attempt to prevent further spread at the very least.  Plus I’ve been digging up as many as possible to the point that my palms are sore.

weeds

I realized today that dandelions in their sunny yellow state are actually rather pretty – and look quite similar to chrysanthemums.  Why do we encourage one and sneer at the other?  I also have had a full blown dandelion paper weight for years because again they are quite interesting in that form, especially under glass where they will not propagate.

 

I’m not a big fan of using chemicals on my lawn, maybe that is partly why I am so bad about using the anti-weed stuff.  My objection is based on the law of unintended consequences by solving one problem and exacerbating a more serious problem – poisoning the groundwater.  But I also don’t spend enough time on the lawn to make it look decent without chemical assistance.  (You should see the size of some of the roots I’ve been pulling up.)

 

I am a puttering type of gardener.  I enjoy greenery, and flowers – being near growing things does bring serenity.  But I don’t care for crouching, stooping, weeding and that sort of activity.  So a perennial garden is just about the right speed for me – I can putter, but I don’t have to micromanage.

 

How, you might ask, does this fit in with my work life theme?  I have used the corollary between ideas and seeds since my children became old enough to start reasoning.  I continued to use it in my work life, especially once I hit management.  A parent or manager strews all sorts of seeds; some hit fertile ground and a new plant pops up within days, others hit fallow ground and may lie dormant for weeks, months or years before sprouting.

 

I recently had a conversation in one of my LinkedIn groups with someone who pointed out that some of these idea seeds appear as weeds.  That conversation came back to me as I wrestled with the dandelion plants.  They are tough, determined plants.  If you read the bag of the chemical weed killers, many actually say that they will not kill mature plants, only prevent the growth of new ones.

 

How do we know when we are sowing idea seeds which ones will be plants we like and want to keep and which ones will germinate as weeds, which we will want to eradicate?  Let’s get into the weeds on this one.

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

Leave a Reply

