Do You Make Checklists?

I used to work with someone who had a great habit of keeping daily checklists in a specific notebook, including starting each new entry with a box to check off once completed.  If I asked her to do something, out would come the notebook and she would start with a box on a new line.  She would repeat back to me exactly what she understood the request to entail.  She would end by asking me if I had a specific time frame or if she could fit it into her active task list and let me know the completion date.

checklist

She and I liked to bounce ideas off of each other so not only was her process great, it helped that she would promptly write the request down since we often would start to brainstorm on one thing or another while I was there.

 

My dad was a premier list maker – fall yard work, spring yard work, things he could tell us that he wanted, and so on.  And when I say things that he wanted, he would include the store or stores, the sale cycle, the color, the catalog number – everything we could possibly need to get that item.

 

I have found that I have to date my lists and put a list header – projects for the house, blog post ideas, books to read, etc.  I have a bit too much of my mom in me, maybe; or combo of mom’s somewhat haphazard methods and dad’s more precise ones.  Mom was good at jotting down info on whatever was handy at the time and then forgetting where she had put the data when she needed it.  I do manage much better than she at getting the info moved to the correct list.  But I still come across undated random lists that I’ve made upon occasion.

 

Early on, I wrote about this topic from a different tack, Chaos is a Style.  There are so many details that I am stunned when I meet someone who doesn’t keep lists, doesn’t have someone else to get the details done, and manages to get things done on time.  How about you?

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

Leave a comment

Filed under Work Life, Work Smarter

Leave a Reply

