Reasoning & Value: Our Work Life Experience

Having nebulous plans to use the results in a blog post and also intending to get better SEO (search engine optimization) for my own name (we are all self-marketers these days), I started a discussion in several of my LinkedIn groups a few weeks ago. (I really like it when one thing can accomplish multiple goals, don’t you?)  The discussion was on a topic that I have written about previously and have mulled over periodically during my corporate experiences –feeling valued at work.

value

Here was how I worded it (the same in all 4 instances):

The title was Feeling Valued and the content was as follows –

  • When was the last time that you felt valued at work? (How long ago was that?)
  • What were you doing?
  • Who helped you to feel valued and how did they show it?

 

[A word about starting LI discussions: if you haven’t done so, try it since it can be enlightening.  Start small and by attaching someone else’s content while putting in your own title and two-cents, otherwise LI will not give you enough weight to promote your discussion if you use original content.  Start in one or two of your groups with a smaller overall number of members.]

 

Two of my discussions, in active but long-shot groups, died without getting started.  Oh well, nothing ventured, nothing gained.  One got small traction for a couple of days – a win for me because this was my first discussion to get any notice in this group.  And one went on for a couple of weeks and received decent attention – this was in a group dedicated to customer service, so not surprising that an emotion based discussion received good play.

 

Less than half of the respondents in any group actually answered my questions, which is pretty standard.  The respondents were in different age groups – baby boomers, millennials; just about equally male and female; almost evenly management and worker bee levels.  No one disagreed that feeling valued had a place in work discussions.

 

All responses were polite and professional, but despite placement on company hierarchy the discontent was pretty much universal.  And back up experiences that I have in face to face opportunities, plus information presented in other sources.

 

My tagline on this blog, Reasonable Expectations, comes out of discussions that I had over the course of a working relationship with a great idea person.  Reason is a word, an approach to life that seems to have fallen out of favor but should be resurrected.  You might be of the opinion that it doesn’t belong in the same sentence with value, as I have connected them in the title.  I disagree – while juxtaposed, I think that these things should mesh more frequently in our plans.

 

A fellow that I know who holds integrity as a dear commodity, has a phrase he uses – spinning orbits – which he describes as activities which have no bearing on the current project.  Spinning orbits prevent us from providing value through the actual task at hand, even if the spinning orbit is about a worthy topic – a topic which reasonably requires attention in and of itself, but should not distract from your current effort.

 

Do you ever ask yourself, ‘how can I reasonably craft my work experience so that my need to provide value and feel valuable corresponds to the role that I currently play’?  Or despite the current job atmosphere, ‘since I have not felt valued for some time, what should I reasonably consider as alternatives to increase the opportunity for this important sensation in my work life’?

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

3 Comments

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

3 responses to “Reasoning & Value: Our Work Life Experience

  1. Redo You Project

    Some of the results you mention from your discussion groups match what I found regarding job “engagement” or satisfaction. This is very interesting information.

    Thank you for visiting the Redo You project. Come back anytime.

    Jeff
    Redo…

Leave a Reply

