Fear of Embarrassment, the Veil that Obscures Your View

veilI am not going to tell you that I am not subject to embarrassment, mainly because it isn’t true.  But I’m not particularly subject to fear – at least of this sort.  I have a long history of doing things that could be considered to be embarrassing, either intentionally or by accident.  It doesn’t really matter why I did them, it matters that while I turned 15 shades of red at the time, I’m still here and kicking.  I haven’t been banished from the human race.

 

I also won’t tell you that I seek out embarrassment intentionally (alright a couple of times – especially if it would embarrass my children).  I just won’t hold back from doing something because it might end up being awkward.

 

The thing that I have found is that I can make decisions on my actions more clearly once I removed the fear of embarrassment from the equation.  Of course I am having trouble thinking of a current example to share so I’ll tell this story instead.

 

Graduation gowns have wide, graceful sleeves which are not a style that most people commonly wear.  High heels and stairs aren’t a good mix (Jennifer Lawrence handled her trip up the Oscar stairs with aplomb, in my opinion), so it is wise to use the stair railing.  Except when you have to back back up the stairs to unhook your wide sleeve in front of all of your classmates and their families.

 

I tell this story regularly, because it is funny and humanizes me, but not a single one of my high school classmates seems to remember the tale.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

 

2 Comments

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

2 responses to “Fear of Embarrassment, the Veil that Obscures Your View

  1. “while I turned 15 shades of red at the time, I’m still here and kicking” — yes, exactly!!! so appreciate that I’m in good company 🙂

Leave a Reply

