Putting a Name to a Face

I’ve read the tricks for association – Dale Carnegie and those much more recent.  I don’t have much difficulty remembering faces – except this time of year when some people’s faces tend to be less pale and their hair is the opposite, both due to sun exposure.  And of course if you see someone out of context; say someone from work out for an evening of fun.  These changes are a bit jarring for anyone’s ability to recognize and identify.

hello_nametag

I’m going to admit something here, because I think that I am in the majority on this, my biggest problem is that I’m not quite ready to really hear when I am being introduced to someone (or introducing myself)  and so while my eyes take in their features my ears let their name slip right out the other side.  Oops, yet again even when I long ago figured out this was my main problem with the whole name to face thing.  I mean, like years ago.

 

I tell myself in the car on the way over, I’m going to take a deep breath and center myself before I walk in.  I tell my ears to be ready to listen and capture the names.  But time after time, a couple of people into it and I realize that my ears aren’t doing their job right.  I can’t practice association if I don’t catch the name from the start.

 

A person’s name is important – even if they aren’t too fond of it, they want you to remember it.  I know this, but I just can’t seem to convince my ears.  And when it is an event that includes name tags, my ears just completely abdicate to my eyes.  But name tags get crumpled or written in faint ink, or covered by something.  Or go on the jacket which winds up on a chair.

 

Enough about me, are you with me?  Do your ears try to convince you that the noise level in the venue is too high, or the variety of sounds are just too distracting?  Do you just love events where the planner has stationed a person with kindergarten teacher perfect handwriting at the door to write the name tags?  In bold black marker.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

4 Comments

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

4 responses to “Putting a Name to a Face

  1. I think some of it has to do with living in the moment. I’ve gotten to the place where when I’m talking to someone, they’re the only thing on my mind, even if I’m talking to a stranger that I’ll never meet again–at least in this world. It’s so easy for people to get distracted these days that attention spans are

    • Thanks for stopping by to read and taking the time to comment, Donald. I agree that a big part is living in the moment, and so many of us have this constant chant (like the White Rabbit, “I’m (fill in the blank)”) that it takes conscious effort to be in the moment. But when we are in the moment and are able to make even a momentary connection to another person, it has a touch of something quite elemental and effect the quality of the rest of your day.

  2. This, too has always been a problem for me. I’ve tried the tricks–association, repeating the name several times. As I age I am trying many brain exercises to stay nimble and so I will concentrate this month on remembering names.

Leave a Reply

