Consternated, Bewildered and Confounded

We must be getting smarter than previous generations.  How else to explain it, the severe lack of use for these words – consternated, bewildered and confounded?  We live in a hard to navigate and complex world that folks from a couple of generations ago would describe as downright consternating, if not wholly bewildering.  And yet, we have almost entirely ceased to describe ourselves and our surroundings in these terms.

 

It couldn’t be that we have reduced our vocabularies to short, easily texted words, no not that.  It must be that we have grown in our ability to understand complexity, that we are no longer ever perplexed, at sea, baffled, befuddled, or bemused.

public domain old movie still

public domain old movie still

 

Except, I must say that I have my moments when I am baffled, when something is unclear.  When I would be caught with the cocked-head dog pose if someone took my picture.  Maybe I am alone in my consternation, left behind while everyone else figured out the keys that protect against bewilderment.  I text – yes I learned when my children were in their teens or I wouldn’t have heard from them.  And I confess that texting long words is tiring.  My fingers find it perplexing, even.  They cannot keep up.

 

Rules about the appropriateness of texting while at work can be bemusing.  Or is your employee handbook silent on the topic?  It must be ok by default then, confound it.

 

Are you ever befuddled?  What causes it?  I hope you never find yourself at sea without a paddle, unless you have a motor that is.

 

© 2013 Practical Business | Reasonable Expectations

2 Comments

Filed under Personal Growth, Work Life

2 responses to “Consternated, Bewildered and Confounded

  1. I’ve been reading some classics recently. “Heart of Darkness” and “Anna Karenina,” for instance. People did have an excellent vocabulary. I suppose not having the incessant distractions we have these days and no TV to do our thinking for us has stifled a good deal of our concentration and

    • There was a formality to many interactions that was constraining but also charming – which we have moved beyond to pursue relating in our own modern way. Pluses and minuses to every choice, I suppose. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment, Donald.

Leave a Reply

